top of page

The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon ****

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare. Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

This was a very interesting take on a story that was quite different. I never read anything quite like this and I read a lot. A good story with lots happening. I don't want to give anything away because it would ruin the book but it is worth your time. There is a lot of pain in this book. But there is also a lot of healing. Parts of it are heartbreaking and others will make your face break into a smile. The story is very well written and captivating. Some really big surprises too.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page